NORML Advisory Board

We are also very grateful to the late Hunter S. Thompson, Robert Altman, and John Morgan, M.D. for their years of support.

By lending their name to the organization, advisory board members provide added credibility and create new opportunities for NORML to get our message out to the media. The battle for the hearts and minds of the public is largely fought in the media, and a prestigious advisory board assures NORML greater access to those who shape public opinion.

More importantly, the inclusion of respected individuals on the advisory board sends the message to tens of millions of Americans who smoke marijuana responsibly that it is culturally safe for them to speak out on this important issue. When prominent Americans demonstrate the courage to challenge current policies, average Americans are empowered to do the same.

In addition to lending their name to the cause, advisory board members will appear with NORML when we announce new advertising campaigns, urge support for a particular piece of legislation, or launch a new program. Members will also be featured at NORML Conferences and other high profile events.

Willie Nelson

Singer and Songwriter

Nadine Strossen, Esq., Co-Chair

President, American Civil Liberties Union

David Boaz

Executive Vice-President, Cato Institute

Tommy Chong

Comedian, Actor, Director, Author

Valerie Corral

Co/founder, Wo/Men's Alliance for Medical Marijuana

Ann Druyan

Television and Movie Producer

Mitch Earleywine, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology, State University of New York at Albany

Barbara Ehrenreich

Columnist and Author

Greta Gaines

Musician and Television Host

Terence Hallinan, Esq.

San Francisco District Attorney

Bill Maher

Comedian and Social Satirist

Ron Mann

Documentary Filmmaker

Kary Mullis, Ph.D.

1993 Nobel Laureate (Chemistry)

Norm Stamper

Former Chief of Police

Mark Stepnoski

Former NFL star

Clifford W. Thornton, Jr.

Founder, Efficacy, Inc.

Robert T. Vaughn, Esq.

Attorney at Law, Nashville, Tennessee

In Memoriam