SUMMARY: Sixty-one percent of voters approved Question 2 on November 2, 1999. The law took effect on December 22, 1999. It removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess an oral or written "professional opinion" from their physician that he or she "might benefit from the medical use of marijuana." Patients diagnosed with the following illnesses are afforded legal protection under this act: epilepsy and other disorders characterized by seizures; glaucoma; multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by muscle spasticity; and nausea or vomiting as a result of AIDS or cancer chemotherapy. Patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana, and may possess no more than six "mature" marijuana plants. Qualified patients may additionally possess "harvested marijuana in varying stages of processing in order to ensure the patient is able to maintain supply and meet personal needs." Those patients who possess greater amounts of marijuana than allowed by law are afforded a "simple defense" to a charge of marijuana possession. The law does not establish a state-run patient registry.
RECIPROCITY: Yes. Authorizes visiting qualifying patient with valid registry identification card (or its equivalent), to engage in conduct authorized for the registered patient (the medical use of marijuana) for 30 days after entering the State, without having to obtain a Maine registry identification card. Visiting qualifying patients are not authorized to obtain in Maine marijuana for medical use. Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §2423-D (2010).
AMENDMENTS: Yes. Senate Bill 611, which was signed into law on April 2, 2002, increases the amount of useable marijuana a person may possess from one and one-quarter ounces to two and one-half ounces. Question 5, approved by 59 percent of voters on November 3, 2009, mandates the Department of Health to enact rules within 120 days establishing a confidential patient registry and identification card system, and allowing for the dispensing of medicinal cannabis via state-licensed nonprofit dispensaries. The act also expands the list of qualifying illnesses for which a physician may recommend medical cannabis to include: "A. cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, nail-patella syndrome or the treatment of these conditions; B. a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces intractable pain, which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures for more than 6 months; C. a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe nausea; seizures, including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy; or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of multiple sclerosis; or D. any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the department as provided." Read the full text.
ADDITIONAL AMENDMENTS: Yes.
LD. 1811, signed into law on April 9, 2010, authorizes the creation of up to eight nonprofit medical cannabis dispensaries – one for each of the state's public health districts. Under the measure, dispensaries may legally "acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer, transport, sell, supply or dispenses marijuana or related supplies and educational materials" to state-authorized medical marijuana patients. The Maine Department of Health and Human Services will oversee the licensing of these facilities.
The law also requires, for the first time, that authorized patients join a confidentially state registry. Cardholding patients will not be subject to "arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner, including but not limited to a civil penalty or disciplinary action by any business or occupational or professional licensing board or bureau, or denied any right or privilege," for their possession, use, or cultivation of authorized amounts of medical cannabis (2 and one-half ounces and/or six plants).
Full text of the law is available here.
ADDITIONAL AMENDMENTS: Yes.
LD 1296, signed into law on July 24, 2011, eliminates the 2010 legislative mandate requiring medical marijuana patients to be registered with the state in order to receive legal protection under state law. It also eliminates language requiring physician's to disclose a patient's specific medical condition with the Maine Department of Health and Human Services. In addition, LD 1296 limits the ability of law enforcement to seize cannabis from lawful patients, and mandates for the return of any seized property within seven days. Finally, the law increased the amount of marijuana that may be legally possessed by qualifying patients from one and one-quarter ounces to two and one-half ounces, and additionally increased the number of mature marijuana plants a qualifying patient may cultivate at any one time from 3 to 6.
Full text of the measure is available here.
ADDITIONAL AMENDMENTS: Yes.
LD 1062 was enacted on June 26, 2013 and expands the list of qualifying conditions for which a Maine physician may legally recommend cannabis to include "post-traumatic stress disorder," "inflammatory bowel disease" (such as Crohn's and/or ulcerative colitis), and "dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders and other diseases causing severe and persistent muscle spasms" (such as Parkinson's disease and/or Huntington's disease). The law took effect on September 28, 2013.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA STATUTES: Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, § 2383-B(5), (6) (1999) (amended 2001).
Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 22, § 2383-B(3)(e) (amended 2001) (increasing amount of marijuana a patient may posses to two and one-half ounces).
CAREGIVERS: Yes. Primary caregiver is a person providing care for the registered patient. The caregiver must be 21 years of age or older. The caregiver can never have been convicted of a disqualifying drug offense. Patients can name one or two primary caregivers. (only one person may be allowed to cultivate marijuana for a registered patient) Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 22, §§2422; 2425 (2010).
STATE REGULATIONS: Statement of Maine's Medicinal Marijuana Law [PDF]
CONTACT INFORMATION: Brochures outlining Maine’s medical marijuana law are available from:
Maine Citizens for Patients Rights
PO Box 1074
Lewiston, ME 04243