Loading

Missouri: Minor Marijuana Possession Offenses No Longer Punishable By Jail

Thursday, 05 January 2017

Missouri: Minor Marijuana Possession Offenses No Longer Punishable By Jail

Columbia, MO: Sentencing reforms took effect on January 1, 2017 eliminating the threat of jail time for some first-time marijuana offenders.

Under the newly enacted law, first-time offenders who possess no more than ten grams of cannabis face a $500 fine, but no threat of incarceration. However, the act remains classified under state law as a criminal misdemeanor.

Those defendants convicted of possessing greater quantities of cannabis (up to 35 grams), or who are subsequent offenders, face up to one year in prison and a $2,000 fine.

Lawmakers initially approved a wide range of criminal sentencing reforms in 2014. However, those changes were not eligible to take effect until this year.

For more information, please contact Erik Altieri, NORML Executive Director, at (202) 483-5500 or visit Missouri NORML.