- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV or AIDS
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS
- No more than two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana per 14 day period
- Yes, if residence is further than 25 miles from a state-licensed dispensary facility. No more than twelve marijuana plants in an “enclosed, locked facility.”
STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES ALLOWED
- Yes, state-licensed nonprofit dispensaries may produce and dispense marijuana to authorized patients on a not-for-profit basis.
STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES OPERATIONAL
ESTIMATED NUMBER OF REGISTERED PATIENTS
- Source: Arizona Department of Health Services, as of April 2022
EMPLOYMENT PROTECTIONS FOR QUALIFYING PATIENTS
- Yes, the act provides a limited reciprocity to ‘visiting qualifying patients’. In order to qualify, the patient: (1) must not be a resident of Arizona (or has resided in Arizona for less than 30 days), (2) must have been diagnosed with a medical condition recognized under the Act, and (3) must possess a medical marijuana registration card or its equivalent that was issued pursuant to the laws of another state. The out-of-state registration card has the same force and effect as a card issued in Arizona except that the visiting qualifying patient may not purchase medical marijuana in Arizona.
Final rules for the program, physician certification forms, and a frequently asked questions (FAQs) are all available online at the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program.