The following states and territories have passed laws allowing for the personal possession and consumption of cannabis by adults. Generally, this means a policy that supports a legally controlled market for marijuana, where consumers can buy marijuana for personal use from a safe legal source.

States/Territories with Legalized Marijuana

Alaska Arizona California
CNMI Colorado District of Columbia
Guam Illinois Maine
Massachusetts Michigan Montana
Nevada New Jersey* Oregon
South Dakota** Vermont Washington

* The New Jersey law takes effect on January 1, 2021. New Jersey’s law requires the additional passage of enabling legislation from state lawmakers prior to implementation.

** South Dakota’s amendment takes effect on July 1, 2021.